Blåmyra

Projects "fjord & coast" 2016

Projects in the Fram Centre flagship "Effects of climate change on sea and coastal ecology in the north" 2016.

 

Flagship leader:  Lis Lindal Jørgensen, Institute of Marine Research: lis.lindal.joergensen@imr.no 

Physical-biological coupling: Oceanography and habitat use by predators and their prey

 

Effects of climate on cod life history and ecology along a temperate-arctic gradient

Project leader: Hector Andrade hector.andrade@akvaplan.niva.no

Participating instituions: ApN, IMR, UNIS, UT, BC

Effects of oceanic inflow and glacial runoff on fjord circulation in Kongsfjorden, Svalbard; establishment of a high resolution ocean circulation model system

Arild Sundfjord arild.sundfjord@npolar.no

NPI, IMR, UNIS

The role of the harbour porpoise

Ulf Lindstrøm ulf.lindstroem@imr.no

IMR, UiT, ApN, NAMMCO, NTNU, UoStA

How do a dominant predator and climate shape fish biodiversity over space and time in large marine ecosystems?

Kari Ellingsen kari.ellingsen@nina

NINA, IMR, UiT, PINRO, BedIn, MU

Seabird habitat use and migration strategies

Børge Moe borge.moe@nina.no

NINA, ApN, UiT, NILU, UNIS, NPI, NTNU, UoO, CNRS, LRU, UoGr, IMARES, AU, AARI, UoF, CEH BAS, UAF, UoIs, UTu,

The coastal migratory behavior of anadromous fish

Guttorm N. Christensen gnc@akvaplan.niva.no

ApN, UiT, NIVA, FOC, UoWa  

Costal heritage for sustainable regional development

Einar Eythorsson einar.eythorsson@niku.no

NIKU, NORUT, TCD

Timing of reproduction in seabirds

Zofia Burr zofia.burr@gmail.com

UNIS, NPI, NINA, UiT, ApN, IMR, BS

Ecological and commercial implications of extreme winter arrivals of herring and whales into North-Norwegian fjord systems

Martin Biuw mab@akvaplan.niva.no

ApN, NINA, UiT

Mapping sea ice characteristics

Sebastian Gerland sebastian.gerland@npolar.no

NPI, MET, NORUT, UiT

Structure, function and change in Arctic and boreal fjord ecosystems

Recovery of coastal kelp ecosystems – driven by climate change or predators?

Project leader: Hartvig Christie hartvig.christie@niva.no

Participating institutions: NIVA, IMR, ApN, NBIC

Salmon at sea in a changing world

Martin Svenning martin.svenning@nina.no

NINA, UiT, LUKE, UTu, FOC, UoWa

Carbon flux dynamics in ice-free versus ice‐ covered Svalbard fjords during the last decade: Exploring the effects of sea ice variability on the downward flux of biogenic particles

Gerald Darnis gerald.darnis@akvaplan.niva.no

ApN, UiT, UNIS, NPI, UoLa SAMS

Fjord and Coast The Arctic scallop Chlamys islandica as a biosensor for detection of effects of climate upon ecosystem functioning and anthropogenic impact in Svalbard

Lionel Camus lionel.camus@akvaplan.niva.no

 ApN, UiT, CNRS

Life on the edge - Blue mussels on Svalbard

Jørgen Berge UiT jorgen.berge@uit.no

ApN, UNIS, BC

An integrated approach to understanding weather–ocean interactions along seabird feeding routes

Kjell Einar Erikstad kjell.e.erikstad@nina.no

NINA, IMR, BS, NTNU, UoR

Direct age determination in crustaceans: Validation of periodicity of age bands in Barents Sea red king crabs

Bodil Bluhm bodil.bluhm@uit.no

UiT, ApN, UNIS, BC, UoNB

Marine base maps for the Porsanger Fjord

Aivo Lepland aivo.lepland@ngu.no

NGU, IMR, NRPA

Climate driven regime shifts in arctic rocky bottom

Raul Primicerio raul.primicerio@uit.no

UiT, ApN, UNIS

High latitude fjord ecosystems

Torild Johansen torild.johansen@imr.no

IMR, ApN, UiT

Meroplankton biodiversity

Janne Søreide janne.soreide@unis.no

UNIS, ApN, UoGd, PAS

Abbreviations: AARI: The Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute; ApN: Akvaplan-niva Inc.; AU: Aarhus University; AWI: Alfred Wegener Institute; BAS: British Antarctic Survey; BC: Bates College; BedIn: Bedford Institute; BOS: Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Science; BS: The Bjerknes Centre; CEBC: Centre d’Etudes Biologiques de Chizé; Cedre: Centre of Documentation, Research and Experimentation on Accidental Water Pollution; CEH: The Centre for Ecology & Hydrology; CNRS: The National Center for Scientific Research; CRRL: Control/Robotics Research Laboratory (NYU Polytechnic School of Engineering); CU: Clemson University; DTU: Technical University of Denmark; FMI: Finnish Meteorological Institute; FNI: Fridtjof Nansen Institue; FOC: Fisheries and Oceans Canada; FSU: Florida State University; JAMSTEC: Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology; IDAEA-CSIC: Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research – Spanish Council for Scientific Research; IMARES: Institute for Marine Resources & Ecosystem Studies; IMR: Institute of Marine Research; INSPQ: Public Health Expertise and Reference Centre - Québec; IVM: Institute for Environmental Studies; LIENSs: Littoral, Environment and Societies, La Rochelle University; LRU: La Rochelle University; LUKE: Natural Resources Institute Finland; MET: The Norwegian Meteorological Institute; MU: Massey University; NAMMCO: North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission; NBIC: Norwegian Biodiversity Information Centre; NCA: The Norwegian Coastal Administration; NCAOR: National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research; NGU: Geological Survey of Norway; NIBIO: The Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research; NINA: Norwegian Institute for Nature Research; NIKU: The Norwegian Institute for Cultural Heritage Research; NILU: Norwegian Institute for Air Research; NIVA: Norwegian Institute for Water Research; NMBU: Norwegian University of Life Sciences; Nofima: The Norwegian Institute of Food, Fisheries and Aquaculture Research; NORUT: Northern Research Institute; NPI: Norwegian Polar Institute; NRPA: Norwegian Radiation Protection Authority; NTNU: Norwegian University of Science and Technology; OASYS: Ocean Atmosphere Systems - Research; PAS: Polish Academy of Sciences; PINRO: Polar Research Institute of Marine Fisheries and Oceanography; RAS: Russian Academy of Sciences; RECETOX: Research Centre for Toxic Compounds in the Environment; RU: Ryerson University; SAMS: The Scottish Association for Marine Science; SCNN: Science Centre of Northern Norway; SINTEF: The Company for Industrial Research areas/Project titles Project leader (s) Participating institutions Flagship E-mail project leader Consequences for cultural heritage and society Sea urchin harvest: Ecosystem recovery, integrated management of social-ecological system, ecosystem service and sustainability Wenting Chen NIVA, UiT, Nofima, UoC MIKON wenting.chen@niva.no The impact of extractive industries and tourism on socioecological dynamics in the Arctic Vera Hausner UiT, NINA MIKON vera.hausner@uit.no Ecosystem services and coastal governance Einar Eythorsson NIKU, Nofima MIKON einar.eythorsson@niku.no 12 and Technological Research; SIO: Scripps Institution of Oceanography; SRCES-RAS: Scientific Research Center for Ecological Safety - Russian Academy of Sciences; SU: Stockholm University; TCD: Trinity College Dublin; TI: Thule Institute; TM: Tromsø Municipality; TO: Troms Offshore; UAF: University of Alaska - Fairbanks; UiT: UiT The Arctic University of Norway; UNIS: The University Centre in Svalbard; UNN: University Hospital of North Norway; UoA: University of Antwerpen; UoC: University of California; UoCa: University of Calgary; UoF: University of Freiburg; UoG: University of Gent; UoGd: University of Gdańsk; UoGo: University of Gothenburg; UoGr: University of Groningen; UoH: University of Hokkaido; UoIs: University of Island; UoL: University of Leicester; UoLa: University of Laval; UoO: University of Oslo; UoOu: University of Oulu; UoM: University of Maine; UoMu: University of Murcia; UoNB: University of New Brunswick; UoQ: University of Queensland; UoR: University of Reading; UoStA: University of St. Andrews; UoWa: University of Waterloo; UQAR: Université du Québec à Rimouski; UT: University of Texas; UTu: University of Turku; VU: Vrije University Amsterdam; WHOI: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; WU: Wageningen University