Peter Leopold

Projects "MIKON" 2016

Projects in the flagship "Environmental impacts of industrial activity in the north" (MIKON) 2016

Flagship leader: Per Fauchald, Norwegian Institute for Nature Research, per.fauchald@nina.no

 

Knowledge basis for ecosystem based management

 

Mapping and monitoring cultural heritage sites and environments in the Svalbard Archipelago

Project leader: Stine Barlindhaug stine.barlindhaug@niku.no

Participating institutions: NIKU, NINA, NORUT, NPI

 

Net environmental benefit analysis tool to assess the environmental effects of Arctic oil spills and oil spill response technologies

Lionel Camus lionel.camus@akvaplan.niva.no

ApN, UiT, NPI, UNIS, Cedre, UoLa

 

Ecosystem vulnerability assessment of resources in the Ecosystem vulnerability assessment of resources in the Barents Sea

Raul Primicerio raul.primicerio@uit.no  

UiT, IMR, ApN

 

Ocean Health in Transition

Per Fauchald per.fauchald@nina.no

NINA, UiT, NIVA, IMR, NORUT

 

Consequences for organisms and ecosystems

 

Development of model for prediction of eutrofication and sedimentation from fish cage farms

Ole Anders Nøst ole.anders.nost@akvaplan.niva.no

ApN, NIVA, UiT, NORUT

 

Fate and impact of mine tailings on marine Arctic ecosystems

Anita Evenset anita.evenset@akvaplan.niva.no

ApN, NGU, IMR, NORUT, NRPA, SIO, UoG

 

Arctic Cetaceans and Ocean Noise

Kit Kovacs kit.kovacs@npolar.no

NPI, UiT

 

Mineral extraction in the high North – radiological risks, impacts and mitigation

Louise Kiel Jensen louise.kiel.jensen@nrpa.no  

NRPA, NIVA, NMBU

Abbreviations: AARI: The Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute; ApN: Akvaplan-niva Inc.; AU: Aarhus University; AWI: Alfred Wegener Institute; BAS: British Antarctic Survey; BC: Bates College; BedIn: Bedford Institute; BOS: Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Science; BS: The Bjerknes Centre; CEBC: Centre d’Etudes Biologiques de Chizé; Cedre: Centre of Documentation, Research and Experimentation on Accidental Water Pollution; CEH: The Centre for Ecology & Hydrology; CNRS: The National Center for Scientific Research; CRRL: Control/Robotics Research Laboratory (NYU Polytechnic School of Engineering); CU: Clemson University; DTU: Technical University of Denmark; FMI: Finnish Meteorological Institute; FNI: Fridtjof Nansen Institue; FOC: Fisheries and Oceans Canada; FSU: Florida State University; JAMSTEC: Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology; IDAEA-CSIC: Institute of Environmental Assessment and Water Research – Spanish Council for Scientific Research; IMARES: Institute for Marine Resources & Ecosystem Studies; IMR: Institute of Marine Research; INSPQ: Public Health Expertise and Reference Centre - Québec; IVM: Institute for Environmental Studies; LIENSs: Littoral, Environment and Societies, La Rochelle University; LRU: La Rochelle University; LUKE: Natural Resources Institute Finland; MET: The Norwegian Meteorological Institute; MU: Massey University; NAMMCO: North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission; NBIC: Norwegian Biodiversity Information Centre; NCA: The Norwegian Coastal Administration; NCAOR: National Centre for Antarctic and Ocean Research; NGU: Geological Survey of Norway; NIBIO: The Norwegian Institute of Bioeconomy Research; NINA: Norwegian Institute for Nature Research; NIKU: The Norwegian Institute for Cultural Heritage Research; NILU: Norwegian Institute for Air Research; NIVA: Norwegian Institute for Water Research; NMBU: Norwegian University of Life Sciences; Nofima: The Norwegian Institute of Food, Fisheries and Aquaculture Research; NORUT: Northern Research Institute; NPI: Norwegian Polar Institute; NRPA: Norwegian Radiation Protection Authority; NTNU: Norwegian University of Science and Technology; OASYS: Ocean Atmosphere Systems - Research; PAS: Polish Academy of Sciences; PINRO: Polar Research Institute of Marine Fisheries and Oceanography; RAS: Russian Academy of Sciences; RECETOX: Research Centre for Toxic Compounds in the Environment; RU: Ryerson University; SAMS: The Scottish Association for Marine Science; SCNN: Science Centre of Northern Norway; SINTEF: The Company for Industrial Research areas/Project titles Project leader (s) Participating institutions Flagship E-mail project leader Consequences for cultural heritage and society Sea urchin harvest: Ecosystem recovery, integrated management of social-ecological system, ecosystem service and sustainability Wenting Chen NIVA, UiT, Nofima, UoC MIKON wenting.chen@niva.no The impact of extractive industries and tourism on socioecological dynamics in the Arctic Vera Hausner UiT, NINA MIKON vera.hausner@uit.no Ecosystem services and coastal governance Einar Eythorsson NIKU, Nofima MIKON einar.eythorsson@niku.no 12 and Technological Research; SIO: Scripps Institution of Oceanography; SRCES-RAS: Scientific Research Center for Ecological Safety - Russian Academy of Sciences; SU: Stockholm University; TCD: Trinity College Dublin; TI: Thule Institute; TM: Tromsø Municipality; TO: Troms Offshore; UAF: University of Alaska - Fairbanks; UiT: UiT The Arctic University of Norway; UNIS: The University Centre in Svalbard; UNN: University Hospital of North Norway; UoA: University of Antwerpen; UoC: University of California; UoCa: University of Calgary; UoF: University of Freiburg; UoG: University of Gent; UoGd: University of Gdańsk; UoGo: University of Gothenburg; UoGr: University of Groningen; UoH: University of Hokkaido; UoIs: University of Island; UoL: University of Leicester; UoLa: University of Laval; UoO: University of Oslo; UoOu: University of Oulu; UoM: University of Maine; UoMu: University of Murcia; UoNB: University of New Brunswick; UoQ: University of Queensland; UoR: University of Reading; UoStA: University of St. Andrews; UoWa: University of Waterloo; UQAR: Université du Québec à Rimouski; UT: University of Texas; UTu: University of Turku; VU: Vrije University Amsterdam; WHOI: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; WU: Wageningen University